Program Planning Process

ISLH Meeting Planning

How was the ISLH 2018 meeting planned?

The 2018 meeting in Brussels, Belgium, was planned as a collaboration between ISLH and BSTH. The original meeting selection was voted on by the ISLH Board of Directors after consideration of several cities and partnering hematology organizations. An agreement was negotiated between ISLH and BSTH, including financial, administrative, and personnel matters. Meeting logistics are handled by SPLtrak.

For ISLH 2018, the Program Directors (PD) are Catherine Hayward and Charles Eby. The program Co-Chairs are Gina Zini and Pall Onundarson on behalf of ISLH and Katrien Devreese on behalf of BSTH. Abstract Co-chairs include John Frater, Albert Huisman, Richard Marlar and Christelle Orlando. In 2017, members of the scientific committees were confirmed (see below); each scientific committee includes a chair and vice-chair with a membership term of 3 years.

The scientific committees were asked to submit nominations for speakers for the meeting, including plenary speakers and concurrent sessions in their area of expertise. It was recommended that speakers be experts in their respective field with excellent publications and that someone on the committee would have heard that person speak before. Geographic locations of speakers were also considered as this meeting is in Europe. After speaker names were submitted, the Co-Chairs, Program Director, and Scientific Committee Chairs had conference calls to discuss speaker selection for all sessions. Members of the ISLH Executive Committee also participated in these meetings. Speakers were invited and confirmed. Session chairs were selected primarily from the Scientific Committees by the meeting Co-Chairs, Program Director, and Executive Committee.

Committee Name
Hemostasis/Platelets Pall Onundarson (Chair)
Hemostasis/Platelets Thomas Lecompte  (Co-Chair)
Hemostasis/Platelets Cécile Oury (Co-Chair)
Hemostasis/Platelets Richard Marlar 
Hemostasis/Platelets Robert Gosselin
Hemostasis/Platelets Stephen MacDonald
Hemostasis/Platelets Jun Teruya
Cellular Analysis and Flow Cytometry Michael Keeney (Co-Chair)
Cellular Analysis and Flow Cytometry Marie Christine Bene (Vice Chair)
Cellular Analysis and Flow Cytometry Dongsheng Xu 
Cellular Analysis and Flow Cytometry Juan Carlos Otaso
Cellular Analysis and Flow Cytometry Prashant Sharma
Cellular Analysis and Flow Cytometry Suparna Nanua
Cellular Analysis and Flow Cytometry You-Wen Qian
Anemias and Red Cell Disorders Carolyn Hoppe (Chair)
Anemias and Red Cell Disorders Giuseppe d’Onofrio (Vice Chair)
Anemias and Red Cell Disorders Adnan Hasimi
Anemias and Red Cell Disorders Eloisa Urrechaga
Anemias and Red Cell Disorders James Hoyer
Anemias and Red Cell Disorders Michele Lambert
Anemias and Red Cell Disorders Kees Harteveld
Quality and Standards Barbara De la Salle (Chair)
Quality and Standards Sun-Hee Kim (Vice Chair)
Quality and Standards Alexander Kratz 
Quality and Standards Jacqueline King
Quality and Standards Piet Meijer
Quality and Standards Lakshmi Nath
Molecular analysis Archana Agarwal (Chair)
Molecular analysis Deepak Kumar Mishra (Vice Chair)
Molecular analysis John Waye (Vice Chair)
Molecular analysis Helena Podgornik
Molecular analysis Jay Patel
Molecular analysis Mingyi Chen
Molecular analysis Rong He
Education Anna Merino (Chair)
Education Karen Moffat (Vice Chair)
Education Ruth Padmore (Vice Chair)
Education Gina Zini
Education Joyce Heesun Rogers (VP Education)
Education Kyle Bradley
Education Qian-Yun Zhang